A girls search for adventure!

The search for the “Labyrinth park”: Field research in Hamptstead Heath

As I’ve mentioned before I really want to know where the opening scene of Labyrinth was filmed and now that I live in London I have the opportunity to look around and actually do some field research.

The imdb.com page for Labyrinth mentions one of it’s filming locations as Hampstead Heath which is a large park in the middle of London. Since Jim Henson had a house  in Hampstead and Jennifer Connelly lived in a house there for the five months she spent in London filming Labyrinth I felt it was the most logical place to start my search.

While it has many ponds and plenty of large trees (the points of reference I was keeping an eye out for) I never felt it looked quite right so I decided to go there and see for myself if it looked anything like the park in the movie.

Keeping in mind that of course the park could have changed over the 25 years since the movie was filmed I took a still picture from the movie with me and headed out early in the morning. The heath is large and it took me and my friend all day to cover the places we most felt were possible filming locations. There are also smaller parks connected to the Heath like the Kenwood house and Estate and we made sure we covered those grounds as well, just in case.

Nothing seemed to look quite like the picture and after we’d finished looking at all the ponds and lakes we could find we concluded that the opening scene in Labyrinth was in fact, not shot in Hampstead Heath.

It was however a lovely park and I insisted on looking at “Sphagnum bog” which is on the Kenwood estate, imagine my disapoinment when it didn’t look anything like the bog of eternal stench. 😆

One of the many ponds of Hampstead Heath

 

Sphagnum bog

The search continues and I’ll of course post my updates here.

~ TheTreviOwl

6 responses

  1. Fernando Varela

    Wow! I am in that search as well. It is good to find someone for whom the opening scene of labyrinth is an aesthetical landmark.

    I have reviwed google earth looking for the location.Not so good results

    May I suggest the smalle ponds at the edge of High Gate Park next t Camdentown. From the air they look promising.

    Good luck and please let me know if you find it.

    April 1, 2011 at 2:58 am

  2. Hi,

    I live in London. My American fiancee is visiting in a few weeks and I’d love for us to go and view the Labyrinth spot, its very much “our film”.

    If you find it PLEASE let me know, send me a link to your blog or something? I will very happily blog about it and link your blog with thanks in return! Not to mention be thankful for longer than the smell from the bog of eternal stench would last! 😀

    April 24, 2011 at 6:56 pm

    • Hi Sarah. The link to your blog isn’t working so I hope you see this reply. I’ve found the park and have posted the location on my blog. I hope you and your fiancee get to visit it one day. 🙂

      August 5, 2011 at 3:48 am

  3. Fernando Varela

    I have continued my own research, but I have not actually visited London for the last three years. So it´s aaall Google Earth.
    Anyhow, I for what I have been able to check I think the location is Regent´s Park.

    If anybody out there knows the exact location please share it here. I think many will be quite grateful.

    August 1, 2011 at 8:03 pm

    • Hey Fernando! I’ve finally found the park! I put up a new blog post where you can read all about where it is and what it looks like now! 🙂

      August 5, 2011 at 3:47 am

  4. Pingback: The search for the “Labyrinth Park”: I found it! « TheTreviOwl

Leave a Reply

